BOOK CLUBS

We Support Book Clubs in Grantham!

The Dunbar Free Library supports quite a few book clubs in Grantham by securing multiple copies of books from other libraries.

These groups were started by individuals who shared a common interest. If you see a group you may be interested in joining, give us a call and we’ll let you know if they are accepting new members.

Are you interested in forming a new club? Ask us how!

The Book-To-Movie club is the only group hosted by the DFL library. New members are ALWAYS welcome.

Book-To-Movie

This club selects books that have been made into movies. They meet first to discuss the book and then later in the week to view the movie on the big screen and snack on popcorn.

This group is always open to new members. You can come one month and skip the next.

Stop by the library (or call us) for the current book. We always have enough for new members!

Dawn’s  Book-To-Movie Book Club will be reading/viewing: Moneyball by Michael Lewis and the movie: Moneyball.
The book discussion and movie are planned for July 13th. Everyone is welcome to join! Just stop by the library and request the books! 
Grantham Book Clubs

Click on each book club to see the selection for the year.

The Breakfast Club

Monday, January 16, 2023 Horse by Geraldine Brooks

Monday, February 20, 2023 The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict and Victoria C. Murray

Monday, March 20, 2023 The Ride of Her Life by Elizabeth Letts

Monday, April 17, 2023 The Long Petal of the Sea by Isabel Allende

Monday, May 15, 2023 Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran

Monday, June 19, 2023 An Exaltation of Larks by Suzanne Laqueur

Monday, July 17, 2023 Summer of ’69

Monday, August 21, 2023 The First Day of Spring by Nancy Tucker

Monday, September 18, 2023 Poetry by Robert Frost and the Walk in Ripton, VT

Monday, October 16, 2023 Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan

Monday, November 20, 2023 The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony

December – No Book Discussion – Social TBA

Eastman 2nd Monday Book Club

 

Monday, February 13, 2023 Don’t Let Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood by Alexandra Fuller

Monday, March 13, 2023 Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

Monday, April 10, 2023 Daisy Jones and the Six: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Monday, May 8, 2023 Aperigon: A Novel by Calum McCann

Monday, June 12, 2023 The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict and Victoria Murray

Monday, July 10, 2023 Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel by Bonnie Grams

Monday, August 14, 2023 West With Giraffes by Linda Rutledge

Monday, September 11, 2023 Immigrant Transformation by Ammini Moorthy

Monday, October 9, 2023 Cradles of the Reich by Jennifer Coburn

Monday, November 13, 2023 Dinners With Ruth by Nina Totenberg

Monday, December 11, 2023 Holiday Gathering and Book Voting Day

Monday, January 8, 2024 Daughters of Yalta: The Churchills, Roosevelts, and Harrimans: A Story of Love and War by Katherine Grace Katz

Backup Book Red Famine: Stalin’s war on Ukraine by Anne Applebaum

Nite Owl Book Club

Thursday, January 26, 2023 Wish You Were Here by Jodie Picoult

Thursday, February 23, 2023 Such A Fun Age by Kiley Reid

Thursday, March 23, 2023 The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd

Thursday, April 27, 2023 An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Thursday, May 25, 2023 Next Ship Home by Heather Webb

Thursday, June 22, 2023 The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Thursday, July 27, 2023 The Last Green Valley by Mark Sullivan

Thursday, August 24, 2023 Sombody’s Daughter: A Memoir by Ashley C. Ford

Thursday, September 28, 2023 The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

Thursday, October 26, 2023 Our Missing Hearts by Celeste Ng

Thursday, November 15, 2023 The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles

Thursday, December 14, 2023 no book

Thursday, January 25, 2024 Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Gamus

Thursday, February 22, 2024 The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

 

Sunshine Book Club

Thursday, January 19, 2023 

Thursday, February 16, 2023 The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry

Thursday, March 16, 2023 The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi 

Thursday, April 20, 2023 Unlikely Animals by Annie Hartnett

Thursday, May 18, 2023 

Thursday, June 15, 2023 Eleni by Nicholas Gage

Thursday, July 20, 2023 The Correspondents by Judith Makrell

Thursday, August 17, 2023 The Revolutionary: Samuel Adams by Stacy Schiff

Thursday, September 15, 2023 The Paris Bookseller by Kerry Maher 

Thursday, October 19, 2023 West With Giraffes by Lynda Rutledge

Thursday, November 16, 2023

Thursday, December  TBD

 

The Spice Girls

Grantham’s new “Spicy” Book Club

June- The Royals Next Door by Karina Hale

July- The Mix Tape by Brittainy Cherry

August- Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

September- Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

October- The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling

Use the contact form below to contact a staff member about book clubs.

Book Club Inquiries

1 + 8 =